Faculty

Botany Faculty

Cécile Ané

Position title: Professor of Botany and Statistics

Email: cecile.ane@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-6820

Address:
341 Birge Hall

David Baum

Position title: Professor of Botany

Email: dbaum@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-5385

Address:
242 Birge Hall

Kenneth M. Cameron

Position title: Professor of Botany and Director of the WI State Herbarium (WIS)

Email: kmcameron@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-9237

Address:
154 Birge Hall

Eve Emshwiller

Position title: Associate Professor of Botany

Email: emshwiller@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-890-1170

Address:
321 Birge Hall

Simon Gilroy

Position title: Professor of Botany

Email: sgilroy@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-4009

Address:
B117 Birge Hall

Thomas J Givnish

Position title: Henry Allan Gleason Professor of Botany and Environmental Studies

Email: givnish@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-5718

Address:
315 Birge Hall

Sara C Hotchkiss

Position title: Professor of Botany

Email: shotchkiss@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-6751

Address:
353 Birge Hall

Ken Keefover-Ring

Position title: Assistant Professor of Botany and Geography

Email: ken.keefoverring@wisc.edu

Address:
B221 Birge Hall

Hiroshi A Maeda

Position title: Professor of Botany

Email: maeda2@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-5833

Address:
B215 Birge Hall

Kate McCulloh

Position title: Rebecca Blank Professor of Botany

Email: kmcculloh@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-890-3042

Address:
324 Birge Hall

Chris Muir

Position title: Assistant Professor of Botany

Email: cdmuir@wisc.edu

Address:
Office: Birge 211
Lab: Birge 320

Marisa S Otegui

Position title: Professor of Botany

Email: otegui@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-5703

Address:
B119 Birge Hall and 401A Bock Labs

Anne Pringle

Position title: L&S Mary Herman Rubinstein and Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor of Botany

Email: anne.pringle@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-890-4364

Address:
Birge Hall B115 / MSB 3207

Kenneth Sytsma

Position title: Department Chair, Professor of Botany

Email: kjsytsma@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-4490

Address:
250 Birge Hall

Alex Wiedenhoeft

Position title: Adjunct Associate Professor of Botany

Email: acwieden@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-231-9384

Address:
offices:
•340 Birge Hall
•Center for Wood Anatomy Research, USDA Forest Service Forest Products Laboratory

Affiliate Faculty

(Botany graduate student trainers)

Richard Amasino
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor
Department of Biochemistry
amasino@biochem.wisc.edu
Research Interests: Regulation of plant development; mechanisms of floral induction

Ellen Damschen
Professor
Department of Integrative Biology
damschen@wisc.edu
Research Interests: Ecosystem ecology, species distribution

Emile Gluck-Thaler
Assistant Professor
Department of Plant Pathology
gluckthaler@wisc.edu
Research Interests: Fungal biology, Host-microbe interactions, Mobile genetic elements, Population genetics, Evolutionary genomics

Chris Todd Hittinger
Associate Professor
Department of Genetics
cthittinger@wisc.edu
Research Interests: Yeast biodiversity, evolutionary genomics, carbon metabolism, synthetic biology, brewing, biofuels.

Richard Lankau
Associate Professor
Department of Plant Pathology

lankau@wisc.edu
Research Interests: Plant-associated microbial communities: mediation of individual plant health, abiotic stress tolerance, and susceptibility to disease in both natural and agricultural settings

Paul Zedler
Nelson Institute Associate Director for Research and Education & Professor of Environmental Studies
phzedler@wisc.edu
Research Interests: Ecology of shrublands, forests, prairies, and temporary wetlands; fire ecology; restoration and creation of habitat for endangered species; rare species monitoring; conservation and restoration in agricultural landscapes